Motivation and Encouragement for Dissertation Writers Across Disciplines

TD:D Blog Carnival: Volume 8, Edition 3

In TD:D Blog Carnival on March 14, 2011 at 4:38 pm

Welcome to another edition of the TD:D Blog Carnival!

I’m in heavy article/chapter/essay revision mode folks!  It’s my institution’s Spring Break and I’m working toward having two articles submitted to journals before the end of the week.  What are your Spring Break plans?

Enjoy this week’s posts and make sure to check back soon for another edition.

A Simple Guide to Overcoming Obstacles by Tammy

“I’ve discovered that surmounting any obstacle means you have to look for solutions. Personally, I tend to make things too complex. So by focusing on four simple strategies I’ve been able to conquer a lot of problems, from small to big.”

The Ultimate Playlist to Get You in the Writing Mood by Ollin Morales

“Now, I’m not one of those writers who can listen to music while he writes {I need absolute focus}, but I am one of those writers who sometimes needs a little music to get him in the right ‘writing mood.’”

Everything Will Conspire to Stop You… So What? by Robert Bruce

“There are endless reasons and ways. You’ve got three kids. You’ve got three teeth. The rent is four months past due. You’re a big hit at the office.  She left last week. The engine won’t turn over. You just aren’t feeling it.”

Organizing Drafts by protoscholar

“Coming from a software background, the only thing that kept me from using an open-source source code management system was that I didn’t want to spend the time setting the tool up.  Instead, I fell back on file naming conventions and backup schemes that ensured nothing could be lost.”

6 Key Steps to Finding Your Passion as a Writer by Barrie Davenport

“By definition, writers are passionate creatures. Your days are spent huddled over a keyboard, tap tap tapping out portions of your soul and nuggets of your imagination. If you don’t truly love writing, it is darn near impossible to be a good writer.”

7 Simple Ways to Ease Your Writing Stress by Ollin Morales

“After I finished reading over my first draft, I felt overwhelmed. My novel was still so far away from where I wanted it to be.”

Four Critical Points for Writers by John Shore

“Lately I’ve been getting the vibe that a lot of people out there are feeling newly inspired about their writing. Maybe it’s just spring coming on. I dunno. But I do know that the subject of writing and writers is near to my heart (not to mention my everyday work life). So, for what it’s worth, this is for anyone out there lately feeling moved by the writing muse to do your/her/its thing.”

Monk Mind: How to Increase Your Focus by Leo Babauta

“I confess to being as prone to the distractions of the Internet as anyone else: I will start reading about something that interests me and disappear down the rabbit hole for hours (even days) at a time. But my ability to focus on a single task has dramatically improved, and that one habit has changed my life.”

If you would like to submit a post for the TD:D blog carnival, email your link to tododissertation[at]gmail[dot]com.

  1. Thanks for the mention! You got some really great taste in articles, by the way, and I’m not talking just about mine. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

