Motivation and Encouragement for Dissertation Writers Across Disciplines

Website Wednesday: 750 Words

In daily writing sessions, motivation, online resources, Website Wednesday on August 18, 2010 at 5:00 am

Do you need just a little bit more motivation to fit in those daily writing sessions?  Then try 750 words on for size.

The idea of 750 words is that you have an online repository for your writing each day.  750 words amounts to about about 3 pages, so regular writing sessions are going to add up pretty quickly.

Want to try it out?  Just log on to the site, type away, and earn points for your diligence.  Each month, you get a “bowling-esque score card” that logs your points as you complete daily writing sessions.

If you’re looking for a fun and motivational way to get those daily writing sessions in, check out 750words.

Already use the site?  Leave a review in the comments section below.

  1. I’ve been using 750words.com on and off for about 2 months now. Right now I use it to process through my research and plan my writing. I like knowing that -in that space- it doesn’t really matter what I write, only that I am writing. I’d love to be hardcore enough to commit to the month of 750 words but at this point, its just one of the many tools I’m using. Although I’d like to say that I’m working my way up to the 30 day commitment.

  2. Thanks for sharing your experience with 750 words. I wonder how many of the people using the site are composing academic writing.

  3. […] Happy Dissertating suggests priming the writing pump as necessary via 750 Words. Based on what the site provides, it looks like a fully private blog could also be used in much the same way, but particularly for those who would prefer not to need to ensure for themselves that all their privacy settings are correct or who might enjoy some of the other features that 750 Words offers, the site may be worth a look. […]

Leave a Reply

