Motivation and Encouragement for Dissertation Writers Across Disciplines

TD:D Blog Carnival: Volume 3, Edition 4

In online resources, TD:D Blog Carnival on September 30, 2010 at 6:15 am

Welcome to another edition of the TD:D Blog Carnival!

Is anyone else shocked that it’s almost October?  How did that happen?

Enjoy the posts below and make sure to check back next week for another edition.

Writing Tips

How to Overcome Writer’s Block by Hillary Rettig

“The work of becoming a prolific writer — someone who writes easily and quickly, and has fun while doing it — is the work of managing your moment-by-moment experience of your writing. Writing is one of those activities that looks easy, but really isn’t. Besides the basic intellectual challenge, writing is also an act of self-exposure, and often to critical or harsh audiences.”

7 Mindful Tips to Energize Your Writing by Alexander De Foe

“Many people don’t realize that their greatest resources for writing, creativity, and motivation lie within them already. By practicing Zen techniques of mindfulness and “no-mind” meditation you can actually inspire your inner artist into action without doing much conscious work at all.”

Motivation

Heading for the Finish Line by Linda704

“This morning I had a crisis of confidence, so I reached out to my Twitter network, where I’m connected with many folks who are either working on their dissertation, have completed a dissertation, or know someone who has. Within minutes, I got 4 responses.”

Dissertation Technology

Super Sweet New Screencast by Howard Buddin

“I’ve put together a demonstration that rolls up the workflow I’ve written so much about, and its component techniques. In this screencast, you’ll get to see me produce the literature review section of a paper that I’ll actually be submitting for publication in the next month or so. That’s sort of the beauty of this flow; I’ve tested it under the most rigorous of circumstances (my dissertation), and now I’m putting my money where my mouth is with this draft.”

Website of the Week

Sociological Images

This is one of a series of websites from The Society Pages: Social Science that Matters that features critical analysis of images from advertisements, films, television, magazines, etc.  If you need a break, but want it to be intellectual, check out this site for the latest thoughts on De-Curving Christina, Why are there naked ladies at the Huffington Post?, and Social Rules, Conformity and Consequences: Carrying Books.  Also, don’t forget to check out the other websites hosted within The Society Pages.  One of my favorites is Teaching the Social World.

The TD:D blog carnival is published weekly on Thursdays.

If you would like to submit a post for the TD:D blog carnival, email your link to tododissertation[at]gmail[dot]com by the previous Wednesday at noon.

  1. Hi,

    I have to say I love these Carnivals…the first thing I do in the morning is read a post and go straight into my writing..very fascinating motivational tool…

    Hope your dissertation is going well 🙂

    Thanks a lot

Leave a Reply

